[R] Nominations sought for the 2021 ASA Statistical Computing and Graphics Award

Yan, Jun jun@y@n @end|ng |rom uconn@edu
Thu Dec 19 13:01:18 CET 2019

(Apologies for cross-posting)

Dear Colleagues,

The ASA Section on Statistical Computing and Section on Statistical Graphics are inviting nominations of deserving individuals or teams for the 2021 ASA Statistical Computing and Graphics Award (https://community.amstat.org/jointscsg-section/awards/computing-graphics-award). 

The Statistical Computing and Graphics Award recognizes an individual or team for innovation in computing, software, or graphics that has had a significant impact on statistical practice or research. The past awardees are Luke Tierney (2019), Bill Cleveland (2016), and Robert Gentleman and Ross Ihaka (2010). The prize carries with it a cash award of $5,000 plus an allowance of up to $1,000 for travel to the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) where the award will be presented. Nominations packets have to be submitted by email to Dr. Jun Yan, the Awards Chair of the two sections, at jun.yan using uconn.edu by May 31, 2020. Dr. Jun Yan is the Award Chair of the two sections and will be pleased to answer any questions about the submission process and the preparation of the nomination materials.


The prize-winning contribution will have had significant and lasting impacts on statistical computing, software or graphics.

The nominee should be a member of the ASA. The Statistical Computing and Graphics Award Committee will review the nominations and make the final determination of who, if any, should receive the award. The award may not be given to a sitting member of the Awards Committee or a sitting member of the Executive Committee of the Section of Statistical Computing or the Section of Statistical Graphics.

Nomination and Award Dates

Nominations are due by May 31, 2020 for an award to be presented at the 2021 JSM.

Nominations should be submitted as a complete packet, consisting of:

+ a nomination letter, no longer than four pages, addressing points in the selection criteria
+ nominee’s curriculum vita(e)
+ a minimum of 3 (and no more than 4) supporting letters, each no longer than two pages

Selection Process

The Committee will consist of the Chairs and Past Chairs of the Section of Statistical Computing and the Section of Statistical Graphics. The committee will meet at the 2020 JSM to select the recipient(s) of the award.

Jun Yan, Awards Chair
ASA Section on Statistical Computing and
Section on Statistical Graphics

More information about the R-help mailing list